Home > Personal > “Just a Geek” and Inspiration

“Just a Geek” and Inspiration

I’ve just been listening to Wil Wheaton’s interview on Comptuer America, where he talks about his second book “Just a Geek“. I periodically read Wil’s weblog and it was interesting to read his weblog posting about his interview before I actually listened to the interview. He essentially reviewed his own interview, candidly assessing his own on-air performance. The guy’s frank and open, and funny and insightful. He was my main inspiration to start a weblog of my own, in fact, and take all the little electronic notes I always write to myself and publish them to the world. Anyways, after reading the things people have posted about the book on other weblogs, and hearing this interview, I’ve definitely added this book to my “to-read list” as another potential source of inspiration in what has already been an inspiring few weeks.

This has been a funny summer for me. There’ve been inspirational moments hitting me from many directions. I have my kids in competitive swimming, which was the passion of my youth, and they’re loving it. I have been seeing the Canadian swimmers perform brutally in the Olympics, and hearing personalities like Mark Tewksbury becoming fired up about inspiring change in Swimming/Natation Canada. I’ve been reading about Wil’s struggles to find himself on his weblog, and seeing a lot of internal parallels. I’ve also been listening to my wife, who is getting involved in next summer’s World Masters Games which will be held in Edmonton, and I’m feeling that some lethargy that has been enveloping me for the last 12 years, making me lazy and unfit, is being shaken off. I’m being inspired to do something, and I know a major lifestyle change is coming up for me.

Oh, and in the off chance that you read this Wil, please keep up the blog. I can only speak for myself, but I expect others feel the same way. I get a lot out of reading what you have to say. And, as for Star Trek fandom, I’m an engineer named Scott. I’ve got no choice but to love it.

Categories: Personal
  1. 2004-08-26 at 06:22

    Hi Scott,

    Welcome to the blogging world. I found Wheaton to be inspiring also. I had the chance to meet him this past weekend in San Diego, California for a book signing.

    I wanted to ask you a question about your blog, specifically, this comment entry form. You’re using MT 3.01D, so how did you get rid of the TypeKey thing that’s on the default templates?

    Thanks for your help.

    Gerry

  2. 2004-08-26 at 08:36

    Gerry:

    The way I got rid of the TypeKey thing was inadvertent, because it just went away with the way I configured MT. Anyways, I think that you get rid of it by your Commenting configuration, on the Preferences page of your Weblog config.

    The way I have it set up is this:

    Accept Comments from Unregistered Visitors ON
    Require Name and Email Address Information ON
    Enable Unregistered Comment Moderation OFF
    Accept Comments from Registered Visitors OFF

    That configuration obviates the need for TypeKey registration.

    Hope that helps.

    Scott

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

