Home > MailSaver > MailSaver Temporary Download Link

MailSaver Temporary Download Link

It seems that Novell Forge is slightly broken today, and users who are trying to download the latest version of MailSaver are having problems. I have posted the latest version of MailSaver, which is MailSaver 4.0 Beta 3, here for the time being, until I can get the problem sorted out with Novell Forge.

Sorry for the problems, and thanks for your interest in MailSaver.

Categories: MailSaver
  1. avery_larry
    2007-06-21 at 11:21 | #1

    Was wondering if you’re still doing MailSaver. Also wondered if you could add the ability to save subfolders . . ? We’d like to save all of the various folders and subfolders in our Cabinet without needing to select each folder and save it one at a time.

  2. 2007-06-21 at 14:27 | #2

    MailSaver is still alive, however it is doing what we need it for internally, so I haven’t been doing a lot of work on it lately. It was never designed to parse subdirectories in the cabinet, because I wanted it for ongoing use no a regular basis, not for archiving a whole account all at once. I have had a few requests for that, however, so it’s not off the table. I’m not sure when I’ll get back to working on MailSaver though.

    Scott

  3. Jerold
    2007-08-16 at 11:49 | #3

    I have been using the newest beta version and find it very helpful. However, I have not quite figured out how to change the project folder once it is set. I also have run into a situation where I need to save attachments with the same name from 200 or so email. Mailsaver marks all of them as saved, but I wind up with only 20 attachments. I tried saving them in small batches, but it doesn’t really help. Any ideas or suggestions?

  4. 2007-11-27 at 11:01 | #4

    We are using an older version of your MailSaver v3. I have a question that I hope you can help with. We are seeing errors on the saving of attachments. Can you help with the location of the error message translations? The error description is clear, could not save attachment to file, but the cause is not know to us. The MailSaver Diagnostic Log shows the error as Error Executing GWCommand: 3 Err Number -2147352567. I do see that you produced an upgrade but we have come too far in this production of data to change the method right now.

    Your product has been a great time saver for us! Thank you for sharing with GW customers. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  5. 2007-12-10 at 11:18 | #5

    I’m not too sure what the problem could be. I’d expect that there are one or more corrupt messages in your mailboxes. For our users, to fix this we usually use GWCheck on the mailbox, and if that doesn’t work, we make another folder in the cabinet, move half the messages over, and then mailsaver each folder to isolate the broken message(s). Once one half of the messages archive successfully, we split the rest and repeat until the bad message can be identified and dealt with manually.

  6. Jimmy Smith
    2008-02-19 at 12:58 | #6

    I love Mailsaver! Especially handy for saving attachments! One thing weird though – I cannot save archive items with Mailsaver – I can save items from the main window, but once I get into the archive, and then use mailsaver, it doesn’t save the contents of the items in the archive but rather from the main GW window…. weird

    We’re running the lastest version of GW7 SP2 (with patches).

    Any ideas?

    thanks! And keep up with the good work!

    Jimmy

  7. 2008-02-22 at 10:01 | #7

    Although I’ve tried, I haven’t had any success in getting MailSaver to work in archives. I thought I was onto it for a while, but the API either doesn’t work as documented, or I haven’t properly understood the documentation. The only way at present to get it to work is to unarchive the stuff you want to use MailSaver on, and then re-archive it after you’re done.

  8. Gareth
    2008-03-04 at 07:56 | #8

    Hello,

    Myself and a colleague at work Have been testing mailsaver and have noticed, its not saving external addresses in the to field. It exports the mesaage to a text file, but leaves the too filed blank, so you have no idea who it was sent to. Any ideas?. It fills the field in fine on internal emails.

  9. Anson
    2008-03-30 at 10:13 | #9

    Hello, I currently ran into a problem of bulk exporting GW7 emails for users and I think MailSaver is a great thing! But is there any way to export the emails to .eml retaining all the attachments? Now I am only using the built-in “Save As” function in GW and I had to rename emails of the same subject one by one.. that’s a lot of headache (and I can’t believe GW just wouldn’t give you an option to use things other than the subject line as the filename).

  10. John
    2008-11-03 at 21:19 | #10

    Scott,

    Thanks for sharing your work. I’ve stolen some of your code to solve some problems I was having. We’ve used the C3PO to automate transfer of emails into FileNet.

    I’m happy to send you our source case there’s anything there you can use :-)

    I’m hoping to convert our implementation to .net – time and will is presently lacking. Will let you know if it happens. This utility has save us thousands.

    • 2012-11-14 at 13:22 | #11

      John, Scott,

      I need to automate daily attachment download from Groupwise. What would you recommend?

  11. Carlos
    2009-03-31 at 09:49 | #12

    Attachments can optionally be saved too, in their original format.

    How??

  12. MartinZ
    2009-04-23 at 13:14 | #13

    Scott,

    Thank you for sharing this tool! It is just what I needed….

  13. Tom Gunn
    2009-07-02 at 14:47 | #14

    You stated that SP2 is required…does that mean mailsaver does NOT work with SP3? Thanks.

    • 2009-07-02 at 15:45 | #15

      Works with SP3. That’s what we’re running right now.

      Scott

  14. 2010-04-19 at 01:33 | #16

    Scott,

    I am trying to make MailServer to work.
    It saves files etc, the only problem occured so far is that if you save your Agenda you will have the date it’s added, the time its added, the subject and the comments in there. The only missing part ( the most important ) is the time and date when the event is gonna occour.

    Also i cant figure out why the tools menu doesnt give me a option to enter the configuration of MailSaver.

    Thanks in advance

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

