Home > Linux, Other Work Stuff, Virtualization > Still not done new web server

Still not done new web server

I started building a VMware Server host for the new web server mentioned previously last week. The VM host is just running OpenSUSE 10.2, because it’s temporary. The VM for the web server will be SLES9, our current standard platform. I started that today. It’s mostly built, but it needs some tlc, patching and configuration before it’s ready.

A whole bunch of other crap is occupying my time now too. We’re getting ready for our switchover to Deltek Vision, and I have to build some VMs with w2k3 server and SQL Server 2000, that we will use to convert our data from CFMS to Vision. We need a few of those. Luckily I can build one and clone it.

I have a new workstation on the way, and according to our vendor, it should be here Friday. It’s a Sun Ultra 20 M2, and I can’t wait to get it.

I was having inexplicable problems with OpenSUSE 10.2 64-bit version on my present desktop, so I backed it up to the thumper box with rsync and rebuilt it in 32-bit mode today. So far so good.

  1. guest
    2007-01-23 at 07:16

    How do you like Deltek Vision?

  2. 2007-01-23 at 09:44

    I don’t have much experience with it so far. It’s architecture is not what I would have preferred, since I’m not a big fan of Windows servers, but it works reliably in VMware, which is good. The web interface is an order of magnitude slower than our existing in-house developed reporting system built on servlets in Tomcat and Apache with Oracle as the back end (for example, a custom report on our existing architecture takes 1 second to generate where in Vision it takes 10 to 30 seconds). I expect that will annoy the users a lot.

    Other than that, it’s too early to tell.

  3. 2007-02-04 at 21:46

    Do you have the Ultra 20 yet? I was wondering what you thought of it.

  4. 2007-02-04 at 21:46

    Oh, by the way, my middle name is Scott. :)

  5. 2007-02-05 at 09:13

    That’s bizarre! My middle name is Scott too. I go by that, for some reason that my parents never explained to me.

    I still don’t have the Ultra 20 M2 workstation yet, because I ordered it with 3GB of RAM and the RAM ended up on backorder. Hopefully it will arrive this week.

  6. Jeff Flowers
    2007-02-05 at 17:01

    Cool. I’ll keep an eye on your blog then.

  7. 2008-02-20 at 06:55

    Did you have any issues running Vision on VMware?

    The installer evidently checks the Windows registry for the “VMware, Inc.” entry on a Windows VMware host, and then kicks back an error indicating that VMware is unsupported for Vision. I’m guessing on Suse (Linux) this wouldn’t happen short of searching your filesystem for the vmware binary.

    Has Deltek indicated if it would / would not support your VMware configuration?

  8. 2008-02-20 at 15:02

    We are not having any issues running Vision on VMware. Deltek has seen our installation and hasn’t indicated any issues with support. The only change we had to make was to run the SQL Server tier on ESX server, because SQL Server just doesn’t work reliably in VMware Server.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

