Home > GroupWise, Linux, MailSaver > Internal Mailing Lists Revisited

Internal Mailing Lists Revisited

I wrote before about implementing internal mailing lists in our company using GNU Mailman. That never got too far because of the user interface. Our test group of users didn’t like it. Since then I played with a few other mailing list managers, but having been very busy, I didn’t get anything implemented for real. We’ve also been having problems with our GroupWise upgrade and simultaneous migration to new mail server hardware, for which I’ve opened a support ticket with Novell. Because of this the list manager server went onto the back burner.

Recently in my blog meanderings I came across a mention of Dada Mail, another open-source mailing list manager. I thought I’d give it a try. I’ve also been thinking that a mailing list manager would make a decent virtual machine appliance, so I’ve decided that in order to satisfy our corporate need and provide some give-back to the open source community, I’d try to learn about rPath Linux, a special Linux distribution for building software appliances, and rBuilder, a free service to help you bundle applications as application server appliances. I don’t know how much time I’ll have to put to this, but right now I’m thinking I’m going to try to build a virtual appliance that uses Dada Mail as a mailing list manager and is mostly pre-configured right out of the box. If it works, and provided the Dada Mail maintainer is cool with it, I’ll make it available on rBuilder Online.

Categories: GroupWise, Linux, MailSaver
  1. Ian
    2007-01-29 at 20:10

    Do you need a full two way list server, or a one way newsletter? I was recently tasked with coming up with a newsletter solution for “outsiders” and have gone with pommo(.org). Since you mentioned mailman, I’m assuming you’re going with a full list serv app, but thought I’d throw in my 2 rusty cents.

  2. 2007-01-30 at 09:16

    Thanks Ian, but we’re looking more for a way to dispense with shared folders in GroupWise that we use for discussions in the different engineering disciplines in our company. A list server with automatic web-based searchable archives and user-controlled membership is what I really want.

  3. Wm. glesener
    2009-07-29 at 10:47

    Our Organization is transitioning to Outlook. I want to thank you for the MailSaver application. It’s an immense help. However, it doesn’t seem to save messages in the Groupwise Archive to the hard drive. I know, you’re asking why do you need to do that? Well, when we transition, the licensing goes with it, so my current Groupwise Archive will be unusable. Have you made a mod to the app to allow for Mailsaver to save the archive?

    Thanks again,

    Wm.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

