Home > Mac Stuff > iMovie with Canon ZR850 Video Camera

iMovie with Canon ZR850 Video Camera

I’m trying out iMovie and iDVD to make a DVD from some videos that one of the synchronized swimming coaches recorded at the most recent Canada Games. Importing video via firewire seems pretty straightforward, but I don’t know where the data’s going. So far I have a giant iMovie project. It looks like video off the camera comes in totally uncompressed.

I’m not sure what to do with the video after it is all in iMovie, but I guess I’ll figure that out as I go along. Unfortunately, you can’t seem to import from the camera at faster than realtime video speed.

Categories: Mac Stuff
  1. Ethan
    2007-10-07 at 22:29 | #1

    Hi, Scott -

    I just bought a Canon ZR850. I can’t seem to get my Mac to recognize it with the USB cable it came with. Do you use a USB cable or a Firewire cable?

    The last video camera I had was super easy to use with a Mac, and I can’t get my computer to recognize the camera (except for still images) with the USB.

    Any advice is appreciated!

    Thanks,
    Ethan
    hey_ethan@yahoo.com

  2. Jon Beals
    2007-11-16 at 20:32 | #2

    I am having the same issue as Ethan. ny advice?

  3. 2007-11-16 at 22:47 | #3

    You need to use a firewire cable. The USB cable only seems to talk to the still-camera part of the camera.

  4. Kathleen Wills
    2007-12-27 at 08:38 | #4

    I just got the ZR850 and bought a firewire. I still can not get my MacBook to recognize and download from my camera. Can anyone let me know what I am missing? I’ve hooked up a JVC miniDV camcorder before with no problems. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

