Home > GroupWise, zfs > Restoring GroupWise Accounts – Getting it to a Science

Restoring GroupWise Accounts – Getting it to a Science

Now that our GroupWise 7 deployment is completely moved onto Linux servers with Solaris back-ending the storage, I have finally got a consistent backup and restore solution that allows me to recover accidentally deleted users without pulling out all my hair.

Our GroupWise post office directories live on Solaris zfs partitions exported to the Linux post office servers via nfs. When I want to back them up, I stop the poa for five seconds and do a zfs snapshot. Then I use zfs send and zfs receive to replicate the snapshot to another Solaris box with oodles of SATA disks. I snapshot the replica every day and keep daily snapshots for 60 days. The snapshots are very space-conservative so it’s relatively cheap to do this.

When one of my administrators deletes a GroupWise account that he or she shouldn’t have, I can use this system to recover the deleted accounts quickly. On the Linux post office servers, I created /mnt/restore/po directories for each post office. Then using ConsoleOne, I defined restore areas pointing to those directories.

When I have to restore a user’s data that was deleted on a certain day, I do a zfs clone operation on the backup server to clone the zfs snapshot made the day before the user was deleted. Then I use zfs set sharenfs= to export the clone via nfs and make it mountable on the Linux post office server. Back on the Linux post office server, I mount the exported post office under /mnt/restore/po, and I now have a working restore area for that day. Choosing a different day is as easy as doing a new zfs clone, exporting it, and unmounting and remounting on the post office server.

If I have to restore a deleted user, instead of just deleted mail, I just have to do the same clone, export and import operation with the GroupWise primary domain directory backup, and then use ConsoleOne, select Restore Deleted User, browse to the mounted clone, and pick the user to restore. Then I follow the above procedure to get the data back for that user.

This is so much easier than dealing with our former backup service provider, where I would have to get a full tape restore done, see if the user was on it, wash, rinse and repeat. That process sometimes took days if the administrator wasn’t sure which day the deletion happened on.

Categories: GroupWise, zfs
  1. rob
    2007-08-29 at 22:44

    Question on MailSaver ..

    I cant find any other email to contact you, but with GW Client 7.0.1 and the beta 3 of mailsaver 4, I cannot get it to save attachments. Do you have any ideas on this?

  2. Nicolás
    2007-09-04 at 11:41

    Hi,

    Can you send me the steps for move a Groupwise to Groupwise on a new server?

    Thanks.

  3. Paul
    2008-04-25 at 07:29

    You have only a few little POA and downtime is allowed. I have quite a few POA (version 7) with 2500 users each and about 600 GB / poa. Each POA has about 8-10 millions objects ( most of little files are under offiles).

    dbcopy for backup and TSM backup ran for a long time; however it is done with 10 hours windows. We do not want to break those POA smaller (less number of users) due to the maintainance of the number of POA(s)

    To migrate the POA from one Netware to SLES10, we used dbcopy tool

    ZFS is very good storage solution for business with limited budget.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

