Home > Personal > Some Bad News

Some Bad News

Today I found out that Allen Williams, the father of my friend Reagan, passed away over the weekend. He was flying a small plane near Golden, B. C. with another man I didn’t know, Steve Sutton, who worked for AD Williams Engineering, and Al’s three year old grand-daughter, Reagan’s niece. I don’t know many details yet, but apparently they had some kind of weather trouble and crashed in inaccessible terrain in a creek while trying to return to Golden. Mr Willams and Mr Sutton died at the crash scene, but the little girl was rescued by SAR technicians by being lifted out by cable from a helicopter. She was listed in critical condition yesterday in the hospital in Golden. Apparently she is in stable condition today with some head injuries, and some of the articles I’ve read have indicated that she probably survived because she was strapped into a child safety seat.

I’ve known Reagan’s family since I was ten years old. Mr Williams was the first engineer I knew personally and gave me my first exposure to the business of consulting engineering. That was a big influence on my choice of academic pursuits and my career. He also gave me my first real job while I was an engineering student, working summers in the materials lab of his consulting company.

I remember him dancing the night away at our wedding, getting a kick out of life. I also remember how proud of his grandchildren he was when I saw him last year at Reagan’s halloween party. The big smile he had while he was surrounded by all these little toddlers really reminded me of my dad with my kids.

Having lost my own dad this year, I know what Reagan, Sheldon and Sabrina and their extended family must be going through today. It hits hard for me and I know it’s going to be extremely hard for all of them. I only hope that they can take solace in knowing how much their dad loved life and his kids, and I also hope that his grand-daugther, Sheldon’s little girl, makes a full recovery. I also would like to offer Mr Sutton’s family my condolences.

Jenn is having a hard time with this today too. It feels awfully close on the heels of my dad’s passing, and then our friend Barb’s dad last month, and now this. Sometimes mortality looms very large in life.

Categories: Personal
  1. Sean Maxwell
    2007-10-30 at 04:06

    Hey Scott,

    My mom phoned me at work on this one. For someone who grew up knowing both you and Reagan, and in many ways looking up to you both of you guys in particular, this one hits home pretty hard. My father is also an engineer of course, so word got around pretty quickly through the profession. Though it sounds like Reagan’s dad had a full life, I think everyone wishes the best for everyone, and I hope Reagan’s daughter pulls through.

    Sean

  2. 2007-10-30 at 08:25

    The little girl, Sheldon’s daughter Kate Williams, is in good condition and was discharged from the hospital Monday night. Luck and good care on the part of Al for securing her safely in the plane saved her from any grievous injuries, so that must be a comfort to a family that I’m sure is otherwise devastated.

  3. Mark Brand
    2007-11-01 at 22:22

    Hey Scott,

    Steve Sutton was Evan’s Basketball coach this passing spring league earlier this year. Steve was a “full-of-life-passionate” kind of guy. I always got a kick watching him coach. An all around good guy, just like Al Williams.

    Barb says she’ll come with me to the memorial service, but I know its going to be especially hard since its only been 5-weeks since her Dad passed.

    See you soon buddy.

  1. 2008-03-28 at 16:06

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

