Home > Personal > Last Morbid Post For a While

Last Morbid Post For a While

I’ve been living through some tough incidents this past year. On April 23 2007 my dad died. We’re still feeling the effects of it, but now at least we’re past the series of firsts without dad (first mothers day, first birthdays, first Christmas) and we know what to expect.

We visited my dad’s grave on the 23rd. We removed the foot of snow from his memorial, and Mack and Emily each left a letter to dad telling him about the great things they did in the last year. I think it was therapeutic for them. I have this blog, which is my therapy, I guess.

I had a tough time dealing with my dad being gone, and so far it’s only gotten a bit easier. The toughest part for me is being at the pool a lot. My dad was always there at the pool when I swam, and now that my kids swim so much and play water polo, I’m at the pool all the time for them. When my dad was still alive, he was always there watching my kids too. I still walk into the pool and look across to the stands trying to pick him out.

Anyways, another swimming season is about to start, and in many ways I’m looking forward to being at the pool for my kids. I know my dad’s memory will be there too, but I’m trying to turn that into something positive in my mind.

Categories: Personal
  1. Yong
    2008-04-28 at 22:22

    Your post was very touching.
    Seriously, it made me cry like that scene w/ DeNiro in “Analyze This” when he’s watching the life insurance commercial. One never stops to think about our loved ones being gone someday. It especially makes me happy to know that my dad also lives on through me and my children. When I see my son smiling, I see my dad now smiling back at me too.
    Your dad was a good man. I can see it in your words.
    Regards,
    Yong

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

