Home > Neat Geek Stuff, Rant > What’s Shaw Doing to My Torrents?

What’s Shaw Doing to My Torrents?

I have Shaw Cablesystems as my ISP. I was downloading a few torrents today, a couple of which were using trackers hosted on thepiratebay.org. For some reason, the tracker announcements kept failing, which prevents my torrent client from finding any peers. I had no network connectivity problems, and I could ping the tracker servers.

I launched a command prompt, did a “dig vip.tracker.thepiratebay.org” and got a list of IP addresses. Then, in my torrent client, I went into the stuck torrent and added http://ip-address/announce as a user-added announce server, where I replaced ip-address with one of the addresses that my dig command produced, and restarted the torrent. Lo and behold, the torrent started downloading and instantly ramped up to a couple of hundred k per second of transfer rate. A few minutes later it finished.

I don’t know what’s going on there, but it seems like somehow Shaw is trying to block my access to torrent trackers. This seems to be an alternative method to reduce torrent traffic instead of doing traffic shaping, which they have been accused of in the past.

It still works, but if I always have to do that it’s going to be a nuisance.

Categories: Neat Geek Stuff, Rant
  1. 2010-10-01 at 15:31

    i’m just using filelist.ro, it’s nicer

  2. 2014-11-13 at 20:05

    Some times Shaw install modem with HIGH firewall restrictions which block pertoper ports. You have to logging into your wireless modem. Usually IP address of modem is 192.168.0.1
    use username cusadmin and password on your modem. more details how to login into modem you can find here: https://community.shaw.ca/docs/DOC-1033

    So when you are in go to Security -> Firewall -> SPI Firewall Protection and change it to LOW
    as soon as you change firewall settings to low you torrent will work as before.

    Don’t forget to say thx :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

