Home > Sun Solaris, zfs > ZFS Not Borked

ZFS Not Borked

A while back I posted an article where I thought the gigantic data volume on our Sun x4500 server was corrupted or lost because of a faulty disk. I tried a bunch of troubleshooting to no avail. I couldn’t get the system to boot up and mount the 20 TB zfs data volume cleanly. I was at the point where I had written off the data on that volume.

I left this problem alone for a long while, having bigger fish to fry in the mean time. Yesterday I got back to it, and decided to just nuke the system and start from fresh. I installed the latest build of Solaris 10 on it, which because it’s Sun hardware, went very smoothly. Then, once I had the boot environment configured I tried importing the zfs volume that I thought was screwed, and it imported cleanly. The data is all there, and the volume mounts automatically when I reboot it. I’m doing a pool scrub to validate the data, but it seems to be all available.

I decided to try this because I had a similar problem on another machine with a much smaller zpool. The zpool stopped mounting and started acting really weird after I destroyed a zvol that was shared via iscsi. Doing a clean install of Solaris fixed the problem and the zpool is still ok.

I’m relieved to get the data back, because there was about 9 TB of useful stuff on there (mostly backups of production data from the last year or so).

Categories: Sun Solaris, zfs
  1. Ivan
    2009-09-28 at 05:10 | #1

    Cool, glad this turned out so particularly nicely. I wondered what ever happened. :)

  2. Andrew
    2010-03-11 at 06:23 | #2

    Hi,

    Seeing as you managed to recover from an apparant fail, I wondered if you could offer any advice? We rebooted our Solaris server to find that on startup the ZFS pool reported as “Faulted”. The ZFS is relying purely on one single LUN presented from our SAN and the SAN is absolutely fine. I then detached the LUN from the host and attached it to another but this server fails to recognise the zfs pool.

    Do you have any steps or hints for me to follow to see if I can recover from this problem? I’ve run format and the 1TB volume is visible and I’ve also tried zpool import etc but to no avail.

    Thanks in advance.

    Andrew

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

