Home > MailSaver > Novell is Closing Novell Forge

Novell is Closing Novell Forge

Novell launched Novell Forge a few years ago to host open source application projects on. I have an open source application for GroupWise called MailSaver, which lets users save whole folders worth of email all at once to text files from GroupWise to disk. I moved it to being hosted on Novell Forge when it opened.

I have now moved the download again to a place that won’t go away when Novell Forge shuts down in December. You can find the link to the installer and the source code on the MailSaver page of this site.

Categories: MailSaver
  1. Ryan
    2009-11-20 at 20:32

    Scott, Mailsaver could be the answer to all of my problems and a wonderful way to save on endless email printouts, and I mean ENNNNDLLLLEEEESSS. You see, I’m an attorney and, as you know, attorneys push a lot of paper. Anyway, I downloaded mailsaver. I selected a collection location on our firm’s mainframe. I attempted to save an entire folder’s worth of email to that location from my cabinet in groupwise and, unfortunately, when I check to see if my emails (and related attachments) were sent to that location, they aren’t there. I’ve done this process repeatedly and have even changed locations repeatedly, but to no avail. What do I need to do that i’m not already doing. By the way, I’m clueless when it comes to computers. So, I’m assuming that I’m doing something wrong here. Please help. I’ve been at it for over 2 hours and have made no progress.

  2. Jo Anne Vaughn
    2010-02-04 at 10:18

    I am trying to install mailsaver. It goes through the install process but when I try to run the exe, nothing happens. I am running XP with Service Pack 3. Thanks for your help.

  3. pat
    2010-02-08 at 16:45

    I’ve downloaded the mailsaver app and when I try to install it, the install windows opens up and then goes away. I’m not seeing the mailsaver menu available in groupwise. Any suggestions? What are the pre-requisites for installing it?

  4. pat
    2010-02-08 at 16:47

    any suggestions would be welcome… Thanks!

  5. Jo Anne Vaughn
    2010-02-08 at 16:48

    Did you close Groupwise and reopen it after you installed it? It shows up when you right click on a directory name.

  6. 2010-02-08 at 16:50

    Yes, ensure you quit GroupWise and Notify (if you use it) and then restart GroupWise. The MailSaver menus should appear after that.

    It does require Groupwise 6 or higher, and it works for us in GW and 7.02 or 7.03 client.

    • Ryan
      2010-02-08 at 16:54

      Scott, I’ve got Groupwise 7 and am having difficulty getting mailsaver to work. I wrote a long blurb to you about it on 11/20/09 and haven’t heard back from you (see above). Can you help me figure this out?

  7. 2010-02-08 at 16:56

    You need to have GroupWise 7 SP2 or SP3 client. All the other prerequisites are built into the installer. You will need to be able to write applications into Program Files, so you have to do the install as an admin-level user.

    I’ve never seen the installer do what you are describing so I’m not sure what might be causing it.

  8. Ryan
    2010-02-08 at 16:59

    Guess that would explain my difficulty. I see mailsaver in my directory and after a right click, but its just not saving. Thanks for your help nonetheless.

  9. pat
    2010-02-09 at 10:07

    I’m running 7.0.2HP on the server and client. when I try run the exe, I get a dos window popping up briefly and then going away. After re-starting the computer, no mailsaver. I’ve right-clicked on the inbox and various other folders and no mailsaver option.

    Any ideas?

  10. 2010-02-09 at 10:17

    Try this:

    Open your program files directory in Explorer. See if there is a MailSaver folder. If so, there should be five files in there including MailSaver.exe.

    If the files exist, try quitting GroupWise and Notify, and then opening a command prompt, going into the MailSaver directory, and running “MailSaver.exe -r” to register MailSaver with GroupWise. If this is successful you should see MailSaver in the menus when you right-click on a folder in GroupWise.

    • pat
      2010-02-09 at 15:13

      NO mailsaver folder under program files. I’ve tried installing it on two machines, no go. both have windows xp pro. One is sp2 and one is sp3

  11. 2010-02-09 at 15:20

    Two suggestions:

    1, Download mailsaver installer again from the MailSaver tab at the top of my blog. You may have a corrupted installation file.

    2, Ensure that you have administrator privileges on your machine and your user is permitted to install software.

  12. pat
    2010-02-10 at 09:15

    re-downloaded the file and it worked. Something must have gotten scrambled during the initial download.

  13. 2010-02-10 at 09:16

    I’m glad you got it working.

    • Ryan
      2010-02-11 at 08:31

      Scott, I finally got mailsaver up and running yesterday by upgrading to the now obsolete GW 7 SP2. So please allow this to serve as a very sincere thanks for building such a wonderful program for the world. Whether you intended to or not, you solved a lot of my problems. One final question, when I save a batch of emails, I notice that the emails and the attachments in that batch are all mixed up. Is there anyway to ensure that the attachments stay next to the emails to which they were attached?

  14. Alan Taylor
    2010-04-08 at 16:22

    Dear Scott,
    Our university is switching from GW to Gmail (which I’m not that happy about) and I’m using MailSaver (first v 3, now v 4) to save the large number of messages I’ve put in GW archive as text files.

    I expected that I’d have to bring the archived messages back from the archive, then use MailSaver to create the text files. I then found to my joy that MS works on the archived files directly.

    However, I’ve found that MS seems to only consider messages that are dated 2009 or 2010. If I point it at a folder in which all messages are earlier than that, it creates no text files at all.

    Before I try bringing back messages to GW, then operating on them, I thought I’d ask your advice.

    One possible problem is (now that I look), I’m using GW 7.0.3, with no SP, apparently (because of the switch to Gmail, GW things have been run down).

    I’d value your advice, and thanks for the application – it works beautifully on the messages dated 2009-2010.

    Alan Taylor
    Macquarie University
    Sydney, Australia

    • Alan Taylor
      2010-04-08 at 16:58

      Whoops, silly me. I see what’s happening. Despite my being in the archive, MailSaver is saving only the messages in the current version of that file.

      Ah well, it seemed too good to be true.

      Thanks

      Alan

  15. Kevin
    2010-05-20 at 06:43

    Is GroupWise 8 Client supported at any SP level?

  16. Sam
    2011-06-03 at 09:45

    I also noticed that mailsaver is saving email only from 2010-2011. I have GW 8.0.2. Is there a way to change this – I tried changing the computers date… but no luck. Thanks for any help.

  17. 2011-08-16 at 07:08

    Has anyone had any luck getting Mail Saver to work in Windows 7 Enterprise? It works great on my computer (Windows XP Pro), but not on my coworker’s.

  18. Eric Rafanan
    2011-11-09 at 08:30

    Does MailSaver work with the GroupWise Archive?
    Thanks – Eric

  19. Old GW user ;-)
    2011-12-14 at 05:02

    Hi,

    Great program ;-)

    One notice, our Gruopwise language is finnish and Mailsaver menu did not be visible in tools menu. We have windows 7 64-bit & Groupwise 8.0.2 hp2.

    If we change Groupwise launguage to English menu works ok.

  20. OZ
    2012-03-21 at 09:01

    I am unable to get to the mailsaver software by your link provided. It appears dl.getdropbox.com is unavailable. I will try again later but wanted you to know. Is there any other place I can get this software?

    Thank you,
    OZ

  21. OZ
    2012-03-26 at 11:35

    Nevermind. Looks like DropBox is blocked at work. Thank you for your time and effort on this software!
    OZ

  22. Crash
    2012-04-12 at 06:19

    Hey Scott. Is there a place where you still can download MailSaver2 for Groupwise 5.5?

  23. 2012-05-31 at 06:56

    Hi Scott. Thank you very much for making this software freely available!

    Two questions for you:

    (1) Did you ever make progress towards implementing a feature where an entire directory tree of folders can be saved/exported at a time? I have about 275 Groupwise folders I’d like to export, so such a feature would obviously be very useful to me. :-) I’m going to take a look at the VB source code later tonight to see if I can figure out how to go about doing this, but if you have a partially-complete version of this feature that I can use as a starting point and you were willing to share that, that might be a great help to me!

    (2) Is MailSaver designed to work with exporting folders from the Groupwise “Archive”? When I try this, I see that the destination folder for the messages gets created, but nothing gets saved to the folder. (Exporting folders from my regular mailbox, not the Archive, does work fine for me.) MailSaver reports that it completed, but Groupwise displays a dialog with the error “An error occurred executing a C3PO command. Contact your system administrator.” Any insight into what might be causing this? Again, I’m planning to take a look at the source later to see if I can figure out what’s going on, but any advice you might be able to offer would be very much appreciated.

    Thanks again!

    • 2012-06-19 at 19:26

      Hi Scott,

      I’ve successfully completed and tested (on my local PC!) updates to MailSaver to implement the features I mentioned (automatic export of an entire subdirectory tree, and ability to export messages from the GroupWise “Archive”).

      Are you interested in the updated source code?

      If you’re not interested in the updated code (e.g. you’ve moved on to other projects), do you mind if I post the update to my blog in case it might be helpful to anyone else?

      (If I haven’t heard back from you after a while, I’ll go and and post the updated code and executable, crediting you as the original author.)

      Thanks again!

      • 2012-06-20 at 09:30

        Jon:

        I replied by email, but I’m fine with you posting it, or I can post it, whatever you like. I’m glad you got it to do what you wanted. If you want to post it on your blog, I wouldn’t mind putting a link on my blog so people can find it.

        Thanks,

        Scott

  24. Dharhas
    2012-07-25 at 11:16

    Jon/Scott,

    Has this new version been posted anywhere? Our company is getting rid of our archives and I need a way to save large groups of emails plus associated attachments.

    Thanks

    - dharhas

    • 2012-07-25 at 12:33

      Hi Dharhas,

      I still have posting the updated version to my blog as a to-do item. One reason I’ve been hesitant is that a couple of others at my company have tried to use it but it hasn’t “installed” properly, that is, they don’t see the new MailSaver options in their GroupWise even after going through the install process. I normally don’t like to “release” something until I’m fairly confident that it’s free of high-severity bugs like that one.

      That being said, if you’re still interested in a copy of my modified version of MailSaver that can export an entire subdirectory tree of folders at a time, feel free to contact me (or provide your own contact information here, if that’s easier), and I’ll send you a copy.

      • dharhas
        2012-07-25 at 19:53

        Jon,

        I’m interested in trying it out, my email is my name at gmail

        thanks

  25. Cynthia Eden
    2012-08-07 at 15:03

    Also very interested, especially needing to save archived messages and attachments. my add is cynthia_eden at yahoo

    • 2012-08-18 at 08:43

      Hi Cynthia,

      As mentioned above, I have an updated version of MailSaver which can handle messages in the GroupWise Archive, but when I’ve had other people test it, they sometimes don’t see the new MailSaver menu options appear in their GroupWise client, or else they get an error about a missing “COMDLG32.OCX” file.

      I think one or both of these issues are resolved by running Scott’s original MailSaver installer, but I don’t have access to the installer — only to the MailSaver source code itself.

      Scott, is there any chance you could let me know what the MailSaver installer does when it is run? (Does it make changes to the Windows registry? Does it create a copy of that COMDLG32.OCX file?)

      Once I have that figured out, I’d be comfortable posting the updated version of MailSaver on my blog at that point. Until then, I’m hesitant to post to because I’m concerned that many people who download it would be unable to successfully get it working with their GroupWise client.

  26. Darius Samuels
    2012-08-21 at 14:10

    Jon,

    What if I loaded your fix over Scott’s version that’s already installed?

    • Jon Schneider
      2012-08-21 at 15:39

      Darius, that would probably work! I haven’t tested this at all, though (and don’t have an easy way to test since the only machine I have access to running GroupWise is my primary work PC, and I don’t have an easy way to revert that PC to a “clean state” to test any particular set of install steps).

      If you want to give that a try regardless, you can try following these steps:
      - Install the latest 4.x version of Scott’s MailSaver;
      - Download MailSaver 5.0 “alpha version”: http://jonschneider.com/utils/MailSaver-5.0.0a.zip
      - Replace the 4.x MailSaver.exe with the one from the 5.0.0a zip file;
      - Run the updated MailSaver.exe.

      Again, this is 100% untested, no warranty is expressed or implied, use at your own risk, etc. If you do try this, please post back here with how it worked for you!

  27. 2012-08-22 at 12:57

    Hi guys, sorry for being so disconnected from this conversation. If you want to know exactly what the installer does, it is an inno-setup installation file, which is configured by the iss configuration file called setupscript.iss. You can find that script inside the source code zip file for MailSaver. If you download the source code, unzip it, and then download InnoSetup from their website and install that, you can open the iss file and modify it if you want, to make a new installer that will include all the necessary dependencies and your new EXE file for MailSaver.

    If you want to actually understand what the installer does, the setupscript.iss file is in plain text, and it is fairly readable. First, it copes some DLL files and OCX files and registers them with Windows. Then it copies the Mailsaver.exe file, readme.txt, copyright.txt, and an uninstaller.exe file. Then it edits the registry to put the MailSaver settings in there. Finally, it runs mailsaver.exe /r, which is a standard command for any GroupWise C3PO, which registers it with GroupWise and makes the menu entries show up. To remove the app from GroupWise’s menus, you can use the uninstaller, or just run MailSaver.exe /u, which unregisters it from GroupWise.

    I hope that helps!

    • Jon Schneider
      2012-08-23 at 10:11

      Scott, awesome, thank you! That’s great information.

      Based on that info, I will look into putting together an installer for the updated version of MailSaver. I’ll see if I can get to it this weekend.

    • Jon Schneider
      2012-08-27 at 19:04

      I’ve put together an updated version of the self-extracting installer, and am having a couple friends of mine at work test it out. If everything looks good, I’ll post it up on my blog, along with the updated source code.

  28. Darius Samuels
    2012-09-18 at 11:06

    Jon, what’s ther latest on testing the installer.

    • 2012-09-18 at 19:23

      Hi Darius,

      I have a version that’s ready for testing!

      Since my company has completed its migration away from GroupWise, I’ve only been able to test this version on one PC (running Windows 7 64-bit); I have not been able to test on a variety of systems. Therefore, I consider this a “beta” release — it may or may not work for you, there’s no warranty, etc.

      If you’d like to try it anyway, you can get it from here:

      http://jonschneider.com/utils/MailSaver5.0.0b-setup.exe

      If you do try it, please post a follow-up comment here and let me know how it works!

      • Donald Johnson
        2012-12-19 at 11:17

        I installed your 5.0.0b version and the subfolders are indeed also being saved. I’m running under Windows 7 SP1 (32bit) and had no C3PO errors. Will you be posting the (revised) source?
        Thanks for sharing your revisions, and of course thanks Scott for sharing your work.

      • 2013-01-03 at 14:55

        Donald, I can share the source with you if you’d like — just let me know. I wasn’t really planning to post it, because it isn’t very “clean” — I got it just to the point where it would run once for me, and then I was done with it.

        If enough people are interested, though, I may do a little additional work to get the source cleaned up and posted. If anyone else is interested in the code, please let me know (by posting here).

  29. Darius Samuels
    2012-09-21 at 08:01

    I have Windows 7 64 bit. I loaded your version and it seemed to work fine. It saved my archived files as well as the online files. It also saved all the cabinet files and subfolders and files in one step.

    My only concern is an error message stating that there was an error executing a C3PO command.

    Everything still seemed to work fine.

    • 2013-01-03 at 14:56

      Yes, I was getting that C3PO error as well. As far as I could determine (without doing any significant investigation into the root cause), it was harmless.

  30. Rohan
    2013-08-12 at 01:08

    Dear Jon,
    This is regarding the software Mailsaver , I need some information that, other than the manuall procees can this process get automated. Like : automatic archive after some days.

    • 2013-08-13 at 05:35

      Hi Rohan, it might be possible, but I haven’t looked into specifically how it could be done. I no longer have a copy of GroupWise to work with, so I’m no longer actively working on MailSaver development. Good luck with your situation!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

